Medical Complex Extension at No. 21 Sassoon Road, The University of Hong Kong

  • New Annex of Medical Complex Extension at No. 21 Sassoon Road

  • Aerial of Proposed Development

  • Faculty Boardroom


New Buildings V2.0 Pilot
Provisional Platinum

With substantial growth in staff and student population along with the proliferation of research programmes over the years, the demand for space has long outgrown the capacity of the Medical Campus at Sassoon Road.

It is thus a top priority of the University to meet the international space norms for teaching and research and to construct new facilities on Sassoon Road Campus. New extensions to the campus facilitate unique academic spaces and conference facilities that contribute to the incubation of future medical excellence.

The prominence of the south end campus is a centerpiece to the design. A new Annex Building constructed at the existing Tang Court location will treat its users to panoramic views of the ocean and lush greenery. The synergy between students, medical professionals, and the learning & research environment is key to providing the best learning opportunities for students while sustaining long-term commitment of the Faculty.

Green Features

Integrated Design and Construction Management

  • Engaging BEAM Pro from different disciplines, including owner, architect, engineer and construction teams to support holistic design and management in integrating green features into the project design and construction management.
  • Conducted design appraisal of site planning, built form and building envelope at early design stage to explore the opportunities of high-performance sustainable buildings.
  • Providing smart technologies, including Digital Facility Management Interface and Occupant Engagement Platform, to consolidate performance data for analysis and enhance the facility management (big data principle) and connection with building users and visitors on the high-performance sustainable buildings.

Sustainable Sites

  • Over 60% of existing trees are retained on site, to preserve the ecological values of site.
  • Tree canopies of new planted trees and existing trees provides shading over 35% of site area, mitigating urban heat effect.
  • Adopted mitigation proposals in structural designs, cooling plant sizing and stormwater management against more intense cyclones, rising temperatures and more intense rainfall respectively, to improve the climate resilience of the building.

Materials and Waste

  • Providing sorting and recycling facilities (including plastic, metals, paper, glass, batteries and light tube) to encourage building users’ behavior on waste sorting and get prepared for Municipal Solid Waste (MSW) charging.
  • Through Life Cycle Analysis, adopted façade design and selected materials in optimizing the materials use and reducing the environmental emissions - greenhouse gases in CO2e, depletion of stratospheric ozone layer in kg CFC-11, acidification of land and water sources in kg SO2, and eutrophication in kg phosphate by around 40%.

Energy Use

  • Passive designs including optimized orientation and space planning as well as façade design to reduce the heat gain to the conditioned space and enhance daylight utilization.
  • Provided high-performance air-conditioning and lighting systems and solar panels to outperform the prevailing EMSD guideline over 20%, and save energy as well as reduce CO2 emissions.
  • Provided performance auditing metering systems for outdoor conditions, air-conditioning air-side and water side systems to allow facility management team to collect actual building operation data and performance data for periodic review such as energy audit and retro-commissioning and opportunities of future upgrading works.

Water Use

  • Installed water efficient sanitary fixtures to save potable water and municipal effluent discharge.
  • Installed leakage sensor at water tanks for prevent water wastage from any leakages and enhance the facility management.

Health and Wellbeing

  • Adopted biophilic design at boardroom with large façade glazing to the sky and natural terrain and indoor furniture designed with Biomorphic forms & patterns.
  • Installed Hydrogen sulfide sensor at the discharge of refuse room for real-time monitoring and control.
  • HVAC system was designed to control relative humidity for mould prevention which is introduced in the new IAQ certification scheme.

Story

The University of Hong Kong is committed to being at the forefront of Sustainable Development and “Going Green”. As advocates for the industry and to demonstrate our commitment to the cause, the Project Team endeavored to achieve the highest possible grading for the BEAM Plus New Buildings V2.0 Pilot Scheme.

Green Features

Integrated Design and Construction Management

  • Engaging BEAM Pro from different disciplines, including owner, architect, engineer and construction teams to support holistic design and management in integrating green features into the project design and construction management.
  • Conducted design appraisal of site planning, built form and building envelope at early design stage to explore the opportunities of high-performance sustainable buildings.
  • Providing smart technologies, including Digital Facility Management Interface and Occupant Engagement Platform, to consolidate performance data for analysis and enhance the facility management (big data principle) and connection with building users and visitors on the high-performance sustainable buildings.

Sustainable Sites

  • Over 60% of existing trees are retained on site, to preserve the ecological values of site.
  • Tree canopies of new planted trees and existing trees provides shading over 35% of site area, mitigating urban heat effect.
  • Adopted mitigation proposals in structural designs, cooling plant sizing and stormwater management against more intense cyclones, rising temperatures and more intense rainfall respectively, to improve the climate resilience of the building.

Materials and Waste

  • Providing sorting and recycling facilities (including plastic, metals, paper, glass, batteries and light tube) to encourage building users’ behavior on waste sorting and get prepared for Municipal Solid Waste (MSW) charging.
  • Through Life Cycle Analysis, adopted façade design and selected materials in optimizing the materials use and reducing the environmental emissions - greenhouse gases in CO2e, depletion of stratospheric ozone layer in kg CFC-11, acidification of land and water sources in kg SO2, and eutrophication in kg phosphate by around 40%.

Energy Use

  • Passive designs including optimized orientation and space planning as well as façade design to reduce the heat gain to the conditioned space and enhance daylight utilization.
  • Provided high-performance air-conditioning and lighting systems and solar panels to outperform the prevailing EMSD guideline over 20%, and save energy as well as reduce CO2 emissions.
  • Provided performance auditing metering systems for outdoor conditions, air-conditioning air-side and water side systems to allow facility management team to collect actual building operation data and performance data for periodic review such as energy audit and retro-commissioning and opportunities of future upgrading works.

Water Use

  • Installed water efficient sanitary fixtures to save potable water and municipal effluent discharge.
  • Installed leakage sensor at water tanks for prevent water wastage from any leakages and enhance the facility management.

Health and Wellbeing

  • Adopted biophilic design at boardroom with large façade glazing to the sky and natural terrain and indoor furniture designed with Biomorphic forms & patterns.
  • Installed Hydrogen sulfide sensor at the discharge of refuse room for real-time monitoring and control.
  • HVAC system was designed to control relative humidity for mould prevention which is introduced in the new IAQ certification scheme.

Story

The University of Hong Kong is committed to being at the forefront of Sustainable Development and “Going Green”. As advocates for the industry and to demonstrate our commitment to the cause, the Project Team endeavored to achieve the highest possible grading for the BEAM Plus New Buildings V2.0 Pilot Scheme.


Project Details

Completion Year 2019
Number of Blocks 1
Number of Storeys 3
Type Government, Institutional and Community

Project Team

Back

  • 1/F, Jockey Club Environmental Building, 77 Tat Chee Avenue, Kowloon Tong, Hong Kong.
  • +852 3994 8888
  • [email protected]

© 2019 Hong Kong Green Building Council Limited. All rights reserved.

Stay connected:




© 2019 Hong Kong Green Building Council Limited. All rights reserved.

香港大學沙宣道21號醫學院大樓擴建工程

  • 沙宣道21號醫學院大樓附屬樓

  • 項目鳥瞰圖

  • 醫學院會議室


新建建築 2.0版先導版本
暫定鉑金級

港大醫學院師生人口以及醫研項目經年累增,沙宣道校舍現規模早已不敷應用。

為對應國際標準空間要求,當務之急是滿足教學及研究需要,擴建沙宣道校舍面積及提升校舍設施綜合重建計劃。擴建新校舍提供楷模級的學院空間及會議設施有助培育未來的卓越醫療。

校舍南端位置顯要,是設計規劃的核心。於鄧苑現址建築三層附屬樓,海景錄巒自然之美入眼簾。學生教授,科研,學習環境三方的協同效應提將會提供學生最佳學習機會及學院實現長遠可持續承諾的關鍵。

環保特點

綜合設計與建造管理

  • 工程團隊由具備BEAM Pro資格的業主,建築師,工程師和施工團組成,從而更全面的讓綠色設計結合到項目設計和施工管理中。
  • 於早期設計階段,針對場地規劃,建築形式和建築外牆結構進行設計評估,以探索高性能可持續建築的可能性。
  • 使用新智能系統 – 數碼化設施管理介面, 綠色樓宇運作用戶參與平台,收集及整合樓宇效益數據進行分析,加強設施管理(實行大數據原則),並向用戶和訪客顯示高性能可持續建築的發展。

可持續地塊發展

  • 場地透過規劃設計原址保留超過60%的原有樹木,並保護場址原有的生態價值。
  • 新植樹木及原有樹木的樹冠可為超過35%的場地遮蔭防熱,有效減低城市熱島效應 (即降低地面表面溫度)。
  • 透過強化結構設計,冷卻設備和雨水管理, 提高項目建築對氣候變化(包括強烈氣旋,室外溫度升高和高降雨量) 的應變能力, 與紓緩其所帶來的影響。

用材及廢物管理

  • 鼓勵用戶從廢物源頭進行分類,並為都市固體廢物收費作好準備,項目為此提供不同分類(包括塑料、金屬、紙張、玻璃、電池和燈管)和回收設施。
  • 利用生命週期評估,選用優化外牆設計,可優化材料使用和減少約40% 的環境排放,包括溫室氣體(二氧化碳)排放,破壞臭氧層的氣體,土壤和水源酸化,以及富營養化率。

能源使用

  • 優先考慮及儘量運用被動式的設計,優化建築物的座向及空間規劃,以及採用高保溫隔熱的外牆設計,從而有效地控制建築物的吸熱,並強化日照採光的效果。
  • 提供高效能製冷空調設備系統和燈光設備(比較機電工程署指引高效能20%以上),和太陽能光伏板,以節省能源,及減少因用電所排放的溫室氣體(二氧化碳)。
  • 採用系统性能計量系統,除了電力測量,系統還測量及收集建築物營運時的戶外條件指數,空調來回水系統及送回風系統的主要系統參數,使設施管理團隊能夠收集建築實際運行數據和性能參數,以便進行定期審查,如能源審計和重新校驗,以及將來系統升級的機會。

用水

  • 安裝了低流量用水的潔具,可節約用水及減少廢水。
  • 在食水泵房及食水缸房中安裝檢漏器,以減少因洩漏造成的食水浪費,並加強設施管理。

健康與安舒

  • 會議室設計採用自然設計,使用大面積玻璃及天窗,和具有自然風格和圖案設計的室內家具。
  • 於垃圾房廢氣排放安裝硫化氫檢測裝置,以便進行實時監測和有效控制臭味影響。
  • 空調設備系統控制室內的相對濕度,以防止霉菌滋生,並符合最新的「室內空氣質素認證」中的有關要求。

故事

香港大學致力實行可持續發展和“走向綠色”的目標。 作為行業的倡導者並為展示學院對綠色發展的承諾,香港大學物業處及顧問團隊為此項目實現BEAM Plus 新建建築2.0先導版本最高的評級。

環保特點

綜合設計與建造管理

  • 工程團隊由具備BEAM Pro資格的業主,建築師,工程師和施工團組成,從而更全面的讓綠色設計結合到項目設計和施工管理中。
  • 於早期設計階段,針對場地規劃,建築形式和建築外牆結構進行設計評估,以探索高性能可持續建築的可能性。
  • 使用新智能系統 – 數碼化設施管理介面, 綠色樓宇運作用戶參與平台,收集及整合樓宇效益數據進行分析,加強設施管理(實行大數據原則),並向用戶和訪客顯示高性能可持續建築的發展。

可持續地塊發展

  • 場地透過規劃設計原址保留超過60%的原有樹木,並保護場址原有的生態價值。
  • 新植樹木及原有樹木的樹冠可為超過35%的場地遮蔭防熱,有效減低城市熱島效應 (即降低地面表面溫度)。
  • 透過強化結構設計,冷卻設備和雨水管理, 提高項目建築對氣候變化(包括強烈氣旋,室外溫度升高和高降雨量) 的應變能力, 與紓緩其所帶來的影響。

用材及廢物管理

  • 鼓勵用戶從廢物源頭進行分類,並為都市固體廢物收費作好準備,項目為此提供不同分類(包括塑料、金屬、紙張、玻璃、電池和燈管)和回收設施。
  • 利用生命週期評估,選用優化外牆設計,可優化材料使用和減少約40% 的環境排放,包括溫室氣體(二氧化碳)排放,破壞臭氧層的氣體,土壤和水源酸化,以及富營養化率。

能源使用

  • 優先考慮及儘量運用被動式的設計,優化建築物的座向及空間規劃,以及採用高保溫隔熱的外牆設計,從而有效地控制建築物的吸熱,並強化日照採光的效果。
  • 提供高效能製冷空調設備系統和燈光設備(比較機電工程署指引高效能20%以上),和太陽能光伏板,以節省能源,及減少因用電所排放的溫室氣體(二氧化碳)。
  • 採用系统性能計量系統,除了電力測量,系統還測量及收集建築物營運時的戶外條件指數,空調來回水系統及送回風系統的主要系統參數,使設施管理團隊能夠收集建築實際運行數據和性能參數,以便進行定期審查,如能源審計和重新校驗,以及將來系統升級的機會。

用水

  • 安裝了低流量用水的潔具,可節約用水及減少廢水。
  • 在食水泵房及食水缸房中安裝檢漏器,以減少因洩漏造成的食水浪費,並加強設施管理。

健康與安舒

  • 會議室設計採用自然設計,使用大面積玻璃及天窗,和具有自然風格和圖案設計的室內家具。
  • 於垃圾房廢氣排放安裝硫化氫檢測裝置,以便進行實時監測和有效控制臭味影響。
  • 空調設備系統控制室內的相對濕度,以防止霉菌滋生,並符合最新的「室內空氣質素認證」中的有關要求。

故事

香港大學致力實行可持續發展和“走向綠色”的目標。 作為行業的倡導者並為展示學院對綠色發展的承諾,香港大學物業處及顧問團隊為此項目實現BEAM Plus 新建建築2.0先導版本最高的評級。


項目細節

竣工年份 2019
樓宇數目 1
樓層數目 3
類別 政府,機構和社區

項目團隊

上一頁


© 2020 香港綠色建築議會有限公司版權所有

與我們保持聯繫:




© 2020 香港綠色建築議會有限公司版權所有